you're reading...
Destinations, Geography, History, Photographers Point

Aguas Calientes, Peru


Vistadome 205 to Machu Picchu ( Aguas Caliente...

Image by ShashiBellamkonda via Flickr

Aguas Calientes is the colloquial name for Machupicchu Pueblo, a town in Peru on the Urubamba (Vilcanota) River. It is best known as the closest access point to the sacred Incan city of Machu Picchu (in Quechua: old mountain), which is 6 kilometres (3.7 mi) away, about 1.5 hours walk. It has many hotels and restaurants for tourists, as well as natural hot baths, which give the town its name (“hot waters” in Spanish). The baths were destroyed by floods several years ago, but have been rebuilt.

Originally settled by a few farm families in 1901, the tiny settlement was transformed into a busy railway worker’s camp, called Camp Maquinachayoq, during the construction of the railroad through there in the late 1920s. The town was the central hub for worker lodging and their equipment up until the railway was finished in 1931

Aguas Calientes serves as a terminal for the PeruRail passenger train service fromCusco. Trains serve locals and tourists arriving from Cusco and Ollantaytambo to visit Machu Picchu. A sheltered souvenir market is adjacent to the train station. Avenue Pachacutec is the town’s main and only thoroughfare, connecting the baths to the town’s main square.

About lycon[MANOJ]

I am a Teacher from India. My interest floating around teaching ,blogging,reading, philately , numismatics, programming,wp theame development and photography. You can reach me @ manojap.nair@gmail.com or http://www.facebook.com/manojap.nair

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Aguas Calientes, Peru

  1. I have a degree in psychology, which I have found to be useless. And I am planning on going back to school and getting a Masters in Creative Writing, because I enjoy writing and would love to learn more techniques to make myself a better writer. I am worried, however, that this degree will not open up many doors in terms of the job market (just as my psychology degree has failed to do). Any thoughts? Thank you..

    Posted by snow socks | September 3, 2011, 4:40 am
  2. I was in search of crucial info on this subject. The knowledge was essential as I am about to launch my very own portal. Thanks for offering a lacking link in my business. Anyway, in my language, there usually are not a lot good source like this.

    Posted by Replica Burberry Scarf | September 19, 2011, 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

