you're reading...
Destinations, Geography, History, Mountains

Olympic Mountains


Olympic National Park

Image by Travis S. via Flickr

The Olympic Mountains is a mountain range on the Olympic Peninsula of westernWashington in the United States. The mountains, part of the Pacific Coast Ranges, are not especially high – Mount Olympus is the highest at 7,962 ft (2,427 m) – but the western slopes of the Olympics rise directly out of the Pacific Ocean and are the wettest place in the 48 contiguous states. On the wetter end of the spectrum, 140 and 170 inches (3,600 and 4,300 mm) of rain falls on the Hoh Rainforest annually.Conversely, areas to the northeast of the mountains are located in a rain shadow and receive as little as 16 in (410 mm) of precipitation.Most of the mountains are protected within the bounds of the Olympic National Park.

The mountains were originally called “Sun-a-do” by the Duwamish Indians, while the first European to see them, the Spanish navigator Juan Perez, named them “Sierra Nevada de Santa Rosalia”, in 1774. But the English captain John Meares, seeing them in 1788, thought them beautiful enough for the gods to dwell there, and named them “Mount Olympus” after the one in Greece

Physiographically, they are a section of the larger Pacific Border province, which is in turn a part of the larger Pacific Mountain System.

The Mount Olympus National Monument was proclaimed by Theodore Roosevelt in 1909, and made into a park in 1938.

About lycon[MANOJ]

I am a Teacher from India. My interest floating around teaching ,blogging,reading, philately , numismatics, programming,wp theame development and photography. You can reach me @ manojap.nair@gmail.com or http://www.facebook.com/manojap.nair

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Olympic Mountains

  1. I must express my appreciation to you for rescuing me from this type of circumstance. As a result of surfing throughout the online world and finding opinions that were not helpful, I figured my life was done. Being alive devoid of the answers to the issues you’ve solved as a result of this site is a critical case, as well as the ones which may have in a wrong way affected my entire career if I hadn’t discovered your site. Your expertise and kindness in dealing with the whole thing was tremendous. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come across such a subject like this. I’m able to now relish my future. Thank you so much for your reliable and result oriented help. I won’t think twice to recommend the website to any person who would need guidance about this situation.

    Posted by aasadako | September 9, 2011, 8:31 pm
  2. Thank you a lot for providing individuals with an extraordinarily brilliant opportunity to read critical reviews from this web site. It is often very excellent plus stuffed with amusement for me personally and my office mates to visit your web site particularly thrice in a week to find out the newest items you have. Of course, I’m so usually satisfied concerning the mind-blowing principles served by you. Some 2 facts in this posting are indeed the most suitable I’ve ever had.

    Posted by aasadako | September 9, 2011, 10:27 pm
  3. Good Article, but safe yourself some time and use software to submit your site. I use gsa website submitter now and some years back I used article submitter.

    Posted by SEO tools | September 26, 2011, 7:17 am

Leave a Reply

